As to a child, I talked to my heart asleep, by Pessoa

from «35 Sonnets». 1918, in Poemas Ingleses. by Fernando Pessoa – translated into Italian by Enzo Martinelli

🇬🇧

X – As to a child, I talked my heart asleep

As to a child, I talked my heart asleep 
With empty promise of the coming day,
And it slept rather for my words made sleep
Than from a thought of what their sense did say.
For did it care for sense, would it not wake
And question closer to the morrow’s pleasure?
Would it not edge nearer my words, to take
The promise in the meting of its measure?
So, if it slept, ’twas that it cared but for
The present sleepy use of promised joy,
Thanking the fruit but for the forecome flower
Which the less active senses best enjoy.
Thus with deceit do I detain the heart
Of which deceit’s self knows itself a part.

🇮🇹

Come ad bambino, parlavo con il mio cuore addormentato
 con vuote promesse del giorno a venire,
 E dormiva più perché le mie parole lo facessero dormire
 che da un pensiero di ciò che il loro senso comunicava.
 Perché gli importava il senso, non si sarebbe svegliato
 e interrogato una volta vicino al piacere dell'indomani?
 Non avrebbe combaciato con le mie parole, per cogliere
 la promessa nel soddisfare la sua misura?
 Quindi, se dormiva, quello che gli importava era solo
 il presente assonnato godere della gioia promessa,
 Ringraziando il frutto sebbene il fiore imminente
 è più gradito ai sensi meno attivi.
 Quindi, con l'inganno, trattengo il cuore
 del quale lo stesso inganno ne conosce una parte.
Fernando Pessoa

Poesia in traduzione

Translated poetry

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started